• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Another neewbie paint question

hubdawg

I have replaced two rear quarters and a front fender with new panels. The remaining panels and body have been stripped to bare metal(using 3m abrasive wheel for grinders-Awesome!). It's hard to see imperfections on the bare metal but I do have a few obvious spots. Do I do my fillers then use epoxy prime on everything even the e coat new panels. Do I use my seam sealer before the prime. I've never done any body work before but I've got an awesome set of tools. I'm having a guy shoot the final paint but he is tied up with another project right now and is out of town. I don't want a Maaco paint job but also not a show car finish. "I'm a peacock damit! you gotta let me fly!"

AZ73

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Are you a TV repairman? (think Fast times). anyway, fillers first. Then prime. then sealer, then prime over the sealer. Prime over e-coat (after scuffing it)

71massbronco

Bronco Guru
It's important to have a layer of paint between the seam sealer and metal. That way you are less likely to get corrosion into the metal at the seams. I guess the paint/primer acts as a barrier. Over time the sealer will expand and contract (at a different rate than the paint. and if you are over the paint you won't get exposed metal. Also the metal won't interact with the chemicals in the sealer.

Rustytruck

Bronco Guru