• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Beginning Welder Questions

spreadmonkey

Loc.
Austin, Tx
I am looking for my first welder. I have very little experience (I have welded with a friends MIG once and did ok)

Does anyone have this one? I know someone who has a new one still in the box he is selling for $300

http://www.mylincolnelectric.com/Catalog/equipmentdatasheet.aspx?p=59615

I'm looking to spend around $300 so if there is a better deal out there for the price I would be interested in that also.

Last edited:

Scoop

Contributor
Have Bronco, Will Travel
Loc.
Cuchara, CO
I would not call it an inferior method. Gas will give you a nicer looking weld and allow you to weld thinner material. I still use fluxcore welding for welding heavier materials. With a 120V unit I use both. With a 230V unit you can use gas for both thin and heavier materials. But don't try to do any sheetmetal/body work with fluxcore.

I highly suggest getting an auto-dimming hood and just let your buddies watch using the hand held mask that comes with the Lincon unit! ;D

bighorn

Just my .02, if you have access to a 220V plug, don't invest in a 110V unit. You can find some very nice hobby 220V welders used for that and it gives you much more flexibility. I would also recommend setting up with gas. Trying to weld sheet metal with flux core is PITA.....it can be done and done well but very frustrating for a beginner.

ryan_289

Loc.
Russellville, AR