• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Dana 44 Flat Top Knuckles Questions

jahunter

Contributor
Loc.
Long Beach, CA
Hey All,

First off I am very new to building an early Bronco so please forgive my lack of knowledge. I am working on figuring out exactly what I'm working with before pulling off the tub. So started looking at my Dana 44 and found that I have flat top knuckles with high steer from what I'm able to figure out with my limited knowledge. My goal with this rig would be a mixture of daily driver and off-road uses. I am attaching pictures and am hoping for some feedback on the current setup.

The planned build would be as followed.
* Lift - Wild Horses 2.5" Suspension System with 1" body or
* Transmissions - Gearstar Ford AOD
* Motor - 365HP 365FT LBS from BluePrint Engines with Holly Terminator Stealth.
* Rear End - Wild Horses Super 9 Housing Axles and Custom Built Third member with Eaton Truetrac Differential w/ 31 Spline and 4.56 gearing.
* Front End - Rebuild the Dana 44 with Eaton Truetrac Differential w/30 Spline and 4.56 gearing.
* Tires/Wheels - BFGoodrich KO2 LT285/75R17 US Mags Indy 17x9
Plus a long list of other things to ready this rig for another 50 years ;D

So questions if I may.

1.) Is the flat top worth keeping or would it be better to go a different route? I like the Front Disc Brake Conversion Kit, Dana 44 from James Duff?

2. The High Steer rod end are pretty rusted so and suggestions on good replacements?

I appreciate any info on this.

Thanks

Jeff H

Attachments

• IMG_8211.jpg
    IMG_8211.jpg
    106.7 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_8214.jpg
    IMG_8214.jpg
    156.3 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG_8216.jpg
    IMG_8216.jpg
    129 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG_8217.jpg