• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Drivetrain combo and AOD Swap?

NickC24

Contributor
Hi guys newbie here.

I'm have been doing research on drive train combos and I think I have settled on a 302 with an AOD Trans. Looking for a daily driver that can go on the freeway. Not much of a 4x4 vehicle.

My question is on the AOD. I found one on CL from a 92 thunderbird (which I've heard is a good year and model). Since that vehicle isn't 4x4 can I use it on the Bronco? Also since its newer does that mean it's electric in some way. Is there a conversion that will need to be installed.

Thanks for the input and if you guys know of a better combo for what I'm looking for please let me know!

Broncobowsher

Total hack
I'm pretty sure that the '92 T-bird is still the all mechanical AOD and not the better electronic AOD-E.

In all honesty, it is a bigger can of worms than you are thinking it will be. In order to keep the transfer case it needs a conversion kit. That conversion kit includes a new output shaft. And the output shaft is installed through the front of the transmission. In order to do that the whole transmission has to come apart. That is even if the transmission is working perfect right now, it needs a full rebuild to make it usable in a Bronco.