• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

EB Rim size and offset question & lift question (Help!)

cgbexec

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Naples, FL
I am a newbie, so forgive the long post and amature questions. I am looking at two different rims for an Early Bronco. I know that I need a 5 on 5.5" but I need to know the proper offset. I have not bought the truck yet. I am planning the build first. I am looking to build a mostly streetable truck that will only see occasional light trail duty. My questions are as follows:

1) With cut rears and mild flairs (Not sure on brand) and a 17" x 8" rim, what offset do I need? I plan on running a BF Goodrich LT 285/70R 17. (This is a 33" tall tire that is about 11.5" wide.)

2) Same question, but with a 17" x 9" rim?

3) What is the minimum suspension lift required to clear these? I don't like the look of a large space between the top of the tire and the bottom of the flair. I need it to clear without rubbing during mild trail duty, but I won't be rock climbing. I was thinking either 2.5" or 3.5" bullet proof suspension from Jeff's Bronco Graveyard.

4) Can I clear a 33" x 11.5" tire without cutting the rear? I am thinking that a 31" x 10.5" tire would be max without cutting, but I being a newbie, I don't know what is possible.

I did own a 75 EB about 12 years ago, but I bought it already lifted and just drove it. This one I want to build it over about a year or so just for fun.

OP
OP
cgbexec

cgbexec

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Naples, FL