• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Electrical/Wiper Problem--Newbie needs Help!

pclancy

Loc.
Washington DC
I'm a newbie, and am often at loss when it comes to Bronco issues. I have a 69 with a 302.

The wipers stop working one day. So did my turn signals. On the turn signals, I replaced the fuse with a 14 amp fuse and they now work fine.

But the wipers won't work. Plus, there's a strange clicking noise--very faint and rhythmic--and you can see that the gauge cluster light dims and alternator needle dips every so slightly and very briefly when it clicks.

Are the two problems connected? Is that a regulator problem somewhere?

How do I go about diagnosing and fixing the problems?

Many thanks, guys, for your continuing help.

Rustytruck

Bronco Guru
First place I would look is at the negative post of the battery. You need a large battery cable going to the engine block and at least a Number 10 wire going from that negative post to the body. I would use a larger cable like #6. but a 10 will do on a Stock Bronco. Make sure the connection points are clean metal. When battery cables are replaced some people don't replace the body grounds and that causes issues as the body is hunting for ground through the drive train connection.

OP
OP
P

pclancy

Loc.
Washington DC
Thank you Rusty truck. Do you really think that's why the wipers no longer work (but everything else does) and why I get a tiny clicking sound/pulse?

skerrybronco

Loc.
Montreal,Canada
Thank you Rusty truck. Do you really think that's why the wipers no longer work (but everything else does) and why I get a tiny clicking sound/pulse?