• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Engine freshly built... is it okay if I've already hand cranked it about 20 times?

hollowch

Loc.
Midland, TX
I guess I'm just concerned that I might have dispersed the lubricant in the bearings or something... This is my first rebuild so I'm trying to be extra careful and cautious. If I lubed everything with the right stuff and with plentiful amounts, do you think I'll be fine even though I've hand turned it over about 20 times in the process of putting it back together??

Thanks! =]

nvrstuk

Contributor
Just a Bronco driver for over 50 yrs!
...so the lifters are already installed...right? :)

Apogee

Contributor
Bronco Guru
I'm not an expert, but it should be fine...20 times is nothing considering it's going to fire up and run 2000 RPM, or 33.3 revs per second when you break in the cam. I probably rotated my 429 build double that getting the valvetrain figured out, and then struggled to get it to fire due to a distributor issue, so I was far more concerned about cranking it with the starter than by hand and it still turned out fine.

ilovemaui

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Pacific Moist West
Before I start a new engine I use a 1/4" socket to turn oil pump to get things lubed up. If it's a flat tappet cam you could grind the cam lobes if it isn't oiled. Much less likely with roller lifters.

cldonley

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Robinson, TX