• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Help Installing Chrome Grille Trim Ring

bloving52

My 77 bronco did not come with the chrome grille trim ring around outer edge of grille, and Im wanting to install one. So I order from TBP- and get it in the mail- to find that it comes with screws, and no mounting instructions.
Im usually pretty good with figuring stuff like this out- but I dont want to dill a hole in the wrong spot in my grille. So anyone out there done this before, and have any tips or instructions? Thanks

Also - Im new to this and there may already be a post about it- if so, Im sorry and please someone just send me in right direction.

WorkerBee

Loc.
Northern CA
I already had holes so I did not start from the same point as you however I just re-installed mine yesterday after paint. There should be both 100% plastic clips and bolts (Ill call them bolts but they're really plastic clips with a bolt in it). I bought the clip kit since my chrome was still in good shape so I should have the same parts as you just got.

So the all plastic clips go on the sides and the bolts are for the straight sections. I believe there's four plastic ones on each side. The hole locations are somewhat arbitrary since the fasteners slide in the track so to speak. The sides would be an exception and it'll probably be tricky to get those right.

The plastic clips go in the hole then the little plug goes into the clip to flare out the backside and retain the clip to the grill. The bolts style clips are pretty self explanatory and there's little notches in the backside of the chrome to get them slid into place.