• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Hydroboost help needed

BFPD630

Loc.
Berthoud, Colorado
howdy- I just picked up a Astro hydroboost unit from the 'auto recycler's' yard, not a bad deal for $35. Now the questions of how to hook it up haunt me. I am new to the concept- I understand that the unit runs off of the power steering pump. How do you route the hoses? Do they go from the pump to the steering box and then the hydroboost? Can I put a T in my pump return until I need a new unit, and then upgrade to a dual return? I am eager to get this system working- any help would be greatly appreciated!

edge4

Contributor
Loc.
Gonzales, Texas
Here's a diagram. I forgot who posted it originally (for proper credit)
Try not to use a T. It can cause too much backpressure.

Attachments

• Steeringsys.gif
    Steeringsys.gif
    32.8 KB · Views: 232

edge4

Contributor
Loc.
Gonzales, Texas
For a Asto unit, the best advice I can give is go to www.speedwaymotors.com and buy these adaptors:
AN6 to 5/8" adaptor #617-4802
AN6 to 11/16" adaptor #617-4805
AN6 to 16mm adaptor #617-4806
AN6 to 18mm adaptor #6174808
This will allow you to use standard AN hoses fron the metric hydroboost to the Ford steering box. It will save you the headache of custom hoses that couldn't be replaced easily.
The rest can be found on the many posts and tech articles.
Edge

OP
OP
BFPD630

BFPD630

Loc.
Berthoud, Colorado