• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Machine Shop charging me $350 to rework my engine

hollowch

Loc.
Midland, TX
So I've got my block torn down all the way and I was looking to get it all cleaned up before I put it all back together. I read somewhere on the internet that the best thing to do was to get it hot tanked at the machine shop for about $30-50 and it would end up coming out like new almost.

So I take my heads and block to the local machine shop and they end up saying that nobody uses hot tanks anymore and they quote me this:

Water Jet for engine block - $75
Cam bearing reinstall - $35
Cleaning heads - $90
Valve job (resurfacing) - $150

This is my first time going through all this so I just want to make sure that I'm not getting the run around and getting sold on a bunch of stuff that I don't necessarily need to have done. I was honestly just looking forward to having the machine shop do all the cleanup work for me, but after looking at the price, I'm reconsidering my options.

I have access to a buddy's media blaster with glass beads, so I'm thinking about just using that to clean all my parts off and then taking it back to the shop to get the faces and valves resurfaced.

Does that sound like a good idea? I've never blasted before.

Lmfp

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Lake Charles, LA
That sounds about right.. Most places where im at usually go the water and soap route to clean the parts now... Gotta love environmentalist..

Desert Dweller

Loc.
Central WA
That's a normal charge for those services. A note of caution, ya better not put greasy parts in your buddies' bead blaster....:mad: He'll be a little upset when he has to replace the media that's clogged with grease.....:cool: