• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Manual disc brakes

ntsqd

heratic car camper
Loc.
Upper SoKA
I've posted a lot over the years on this topic. I've an older thread on the IH8Mud forum covering the whole topic of brakes. I'm far from a real expert, but I did spend two years working in the industry at wilwood and several decades since working with and observing other's brake system results. There is at least one person here whom I know easily exceeds my applied knowledge on the topic.

In this thread: https://classicbroncos.com/forums/t...n-manual-disc-disc-brake-combinations.324668/ I mentioned that my mentor while at wilwood developed a simple formula to set-up a manual disc brake system. It should be noted that this formula does not consider the rear brakes. That said, I spent the next 10+ years watching how well the formula agreed with the system configurations that people arrived at, whether they used the formula or got there by some other means. The formula has proven to be a reliable predictor of how the system will feel to the operator.