• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Painting a roll cage? Update paints on!

needabronco

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Prescott/Farmington
I really can't afford $350 to powder coat my new cage, so I'm going to paint it for now. What is your reccomendation to paint it? What do you think it would be to have a shop paint it? If I spray bomb it should I use primer first? I'm not a paint expert so any help is appreciated.

Casey

Last edited:

jedblake

Loc.
Boulder City, NV
I had mine done ten years back when my EB was painted and it still looks great. I wax it everytime I wax the truck they are the same color. I would save up for the paint shop before trying the rattel can, the longterm looks I think are worth it.

Dan's73

Bronco Guru
I did mine 7+ years ago and used some leftover black epoxy primer/sealer. It stood up nicely to the elements, though it did rub off where my left foot rested against it. It's a professional product so you'd have to have proper spraying equipment & a respirator as with any paint system.

You could spray or brush on POR products & likely be very pleased with the results; you'll want to follow their recommended application process, though, for best results.

If you just wanna rattlecan it & go, I'd at least put on some self etching primer before the paint to help adhesion, also making sure to thoroughly clean & prep the metal first.

Roll cages take a lot of time to do well b/c there are so many bends, nooks, and crannies to get into. Just when you think you've hit everything you'll find a spot you missed. I'd imagine a paint shop job will likely be almost as much as powdercoating....

tim70

Loc.
SF Bay, CA