• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Tuning the EFI 393W

EricLar80

Bronco Guru
The purpose of this thread is to document the tuning process I am currently going through. Although I am far from an expert, I thought that it would be helpful for those that may have interest in self-tuning. This first post will focus on the background, and I will add posts covering what I have learned and what I have been trying out.

A few years ago I put a fuel injected 393W into my 1973 Bronco. At the time, I put together a very simple tune using the moates quarterhorse system, and Binary Editor software. Surprisingly, by just changing a few things to match the modifications I made, I was able to create a tune that worked pretty well - easy starting, semi-stable idle, and no pinging/pre-detonation or other fueling/timing issues.

All was fine until a few weeks back that I was talking to Lars and I decided that it was time to invest some more time into the tune since I know that it is far from optimized. The main focuses that I have are to smooth out the idle, fix the lag that is present from idle to about 1800 rpm, and adjust fueling since it is rich to be on the safe side. My EFI 5.0L ran extremely well, so I have high expectations from the 393W and it just isn't there yet.

Here is the current set-up of the engine/trans:
- 351W stroked to 393W
- Windsor Sr (Roush) heads by World Products (200CC; 2.02/1.60 valves; cast iron)
- 9.0:1 compression ratio
- Explorer Serpentine
- Lightning GT40 lower intake; Explorer GT40 upper intake
- MSD TFI distributor
- Lightning 90mm MAF sensor
- 75mm Summit throttle body; some massaging to the upper intake to blend the two together
- 30lb Ford Fuel injectors