• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

1 Ton tie rod end

turbotim2

I have been running the 1 ton TRO for about 3 years or 3,000 miles and the boots on the tie rod ends are falling apart already. I have been trying to find replacement boots but am having trouble finding the right fit. I have looked at Prothane but they don't seem to have anything specifically listed. I don't really want to buy new ends just for the boot. I also checked with the company that I bought the kit from and they don't have them and said check with prothane. Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks!

OP
OP
T

turbotim2

The ones from prothane will work just fine. These Energy Suspension one will work fine.
Tie rod boot
The ones in your link appear too small. They list the larger end as 1.375" and my tie rod ends are 2-1/16" where the base of the boot covers the ball joint.

Yeller

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Rogers County Oklahoma
My apologies, I picked the wrong one. I just put these on my 1 ton TRE’s. Stretched out and worked great. This is a drag link but it’s the same TRE

Large boot

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    182.9 KB · Views: 21

jamesroney

Contributor
Loc.
Fremont, CA
Ok, thanks! I will give them a shot!
There are two types of TRE used in the typical 1 ton application. There is the high misalignment type, and the anti-flop type.

You can tell the difference by the shape of the tie rod end casting where the stud comes out. The one in the picture in post #4 is a high misalignment type, and is kind of rounded near the ball. The anti-flop type is more squared off.