• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

5.0 explorer. Distributorless?...

cscotted

Contributor
DISTRIBUTORLESS EXPLORER RUNS!!!!!!!!

I am new to the bronco world. Just picked up a 74 sport that was in pieces......

So i decided i needed EFI and pulled a 98 explorer 5.0 with GT40p heads Complete with every darn thing attached. Including ALL. The harness and then some. Scored it for 200.00 bucks. Long block.. Took six hours to get it out of junkyard though

Question for the experts and those who maybe have done it before,

Is anyone running the DIS. For ignition ( coil packs) .??? Or does everyone swap. To a distributor?.

Curious to hear whats out there and what i can learn from you all

Thanks,
Scott

Last edited:

Viperwolf1

Contributor
electron whisperer
Easiest way is to use a mustang style harness, distributor and computer. Explorer stuff is not nearly as user friendly.

OP
OP
cscotted

cscotted

Contributor
Thanks...I'm aware of that route. But i would kinda like to know if anyone has successfully done it. DIS. Ign. I read somewhere that all you have to do is reprogram the computer. Maybe i will look more for that thread..

thegreatjustino

Contributor
Red Head Grease Monkey
Loc.
Stockton, CA
Yes, Lars has done it. I've talked to him about it, and it took him over 200 hours to build his wiring harness for it. It's a lot of work for very little gain. Much much easier to just get the Mustang stuff and install a distributor in place of the cam sensor.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Another local friend has his up and running as well. I forget if he decided to do it at about the same time Lars did his, or if he had the benefit of checking the other one out first.