• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Roll Bar Advice

Walter Hinz

Loc.
Cedar Grove, NJ
I am looking to buy a roll bar and wanted some advice.

I am not planning to do any off roading and will probably just drive around town, to the beach, and have some fun. However, I really wanted to get a decent roll bar, maybe a 6pt. Essentially Offroad has a great 6 pt. bar ($380 with handles) and will ship for only $90. But, I have to weld and paint it. I am a novice welder at best and only have Lincoln gasless MIG. So my question is could I weld an unassembled roll bar, paint it and have it be structurally sound and look good.

Are there any other good options out there? Used, new, fabricated? I live in NJ..

Thanks..

coachbarnes

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Franktown/Breck, CO
I am a novice welder at best and only have Lincoln gasless MIG.

I'm assuming it's one of the small 110 models -- they're nice, but you don't want to use it to weld the roll bar together. Just hook up with a local welder -- when the roll bar arrives, drive it over and let him install/weld it together for you. It shouldn't cost much, and you'll be much happier with the results. And if he's a decent welder, he'll have some contacts for powdercoating -- you might want to let him weld it together (fitting it to your truck), but not mount it -- then take it to get it powdercoated and bring it back the the welder for install.

Just some thoughts -- good luck!

67EB_in_619

Bronco Guru
Loc.
San Diego