• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Tricks to verify odometer reading...

Jbwalsh76

I apologize in advance if this post belongs elsewhere. I'm fairly new to the EB and looking around to take the plunge.

I came across a '75 recently that the current owner is saying has roughly 26,XXX miles on it and I'm trying to figure out how I can fact check this or if there are things to look for mechanically where I can try to verify that the true mileage isn't more so in the 126k mile range.

More or less looking for tell-tale signs of age that I can be on the look out for like the driver's seat pad being worn, gas/brake pedal wear or specific things to look at in the engine...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks
JB

SteveL

Huge chevy guy
Loc.
Hawthorne ca
I've never done it but does a marti report or similar show show any maintenance or repairs with the mileage at the time? With all the new parts available it would be pretty easy to fake.

Broncobowsher

Total hack
No mechanical way by the odometer itself.
Should be some paperwork. Any emissions tests, they record odometer readings.
Any service records?

Next look at condition of the vehicle. Brake pedal rubber wear, etc.

I recently got lucky the other way. No documentation, odo said 60k. Leaked bad, guessed 160k. Seller bought at estate auction so nobody knew. Started digging into it. Everything was factory. Nylon timing chain gear still had all the teeth, alternator was original with the factory clips on the back. Neglected, but original. I got me a tired 60k truck.

Rustytruck

Bronco Guru