• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Brake Bleeding issue

ep67bro

Contributor
Bronco Junky
Loc.
Easton, MD
I am working on my 67 bronco. It has vacuum boost brakes from a 77 on it dana 44 with factory ford discs, drum rears. standard H distribution block no proportioning valve.
I recently put a new suspension on it did a brake breading and everything was good. When I was working on the truck I notice my master cylinder was leaking from the piston. So I got a new master cylinder from JBG. I did the basic bench bleeding procedure that was recommended, filled with fluid put it on the truck blead the rears no problem, bled the front no fluid? I get very little fluid through my vacuum pump when I bled the fronts. Took it for a ride and don't have any real front brakes until the peddle is about half way down. If I floor the brakes I can get the back to lock up but the front just barely lock.

So any ideas? I have vacuum bled the brakes at least 4 times now gone through over a pint of brake fluid I almost feel like I got a bad master cylinder because the old one worked fine.

savage

Contributor
Bronco Nut
Loc.
Renton
Bleed it at the master cylinder ,put a rag under or around the line that goes to the front breaks at the master cylinder, have someone push and hold the brake pedal, and crack the line,when pedal bottoms close line repeat if needed then, you can try your vacuum bleeder to see if you get more fluid.It sounds like you have a air bubble up by the master cylinder.

75MIKE

Loc.
NE Washington
Did you make sure the plunger out of your vacuum booster is still adjusted correctly with the new master cylinder?

OP
OP
ep67bro

ep67bro

Contributor
Bronco Junky
Loc.
Easton, MD