• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Bronco Won't Start

Kristachio

I'm new to the Bronco game and forum. Purchased a 71 with a 302 from a well known restoration shop in IL. Literally had the bronco for 3 days and drove it twice before it died at a stop light. Now it won't start. So much for those "test miles" the shop said they were putting on to make sure all the kinks are worked out. Bronco started and ran fine the first drive with the wife.

Drove it 15 miles to work today and it ran just fine. On my drive home it died once as I was approaching a stop light. It started on the first crank and drove another 5 or so miles. I stoped and a red light and it died. However, this time it wouldn't start back up. I noticed the oil pressure gauge says 0. I know for a fact that it wasn't at 0 when I drove to work. I didn't see any oil spots on my driveway or where I parked it at work. I checked the oil and it it has plenty (although there seems to be a small leak somewhere, as there is oil on the bottom of the oil pan, transferase and parts of the frame. I checked the carb and its getting fuel, but doesn't seem to have spark. I placed a screw driver in the center distributer wire and turned the ignition. No spark. At a loss as to why theres no oil pressure and no spark.

Any tips, feedback, advice is appreciated.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Hey Kristachio, welcome to classicbroncos! Unfortunately too, welcome to classic vehicles in general that always seem to have these "issues" especially when just purchased!