• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

c4 transmission selector won't shift from park

fb111ewo

Hi all! Just a quick question and hopefully not a tough one to answer. You'll have to pardon my ignorance on this, but I'm fairly new to working on Fords. My brother has a 1973 Ford Bronco with automatic transmission. I've deduced from reading other articles, that this is a C4 transmission. It's been sitting for about 15 years, and I'm helping him get it running and hopefully back on the road. His transmission shift lever on the steering column won't shift out of park, and I've told him not to force it or he might break something/do more damage etc. The vehicle is currently not running - working on the engine stuff right at this moment. but if we have to move it around - is there some way to get the transmission in neutral?? Any help, pointing in the right direction to look, etc would be greatly appreciated.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Is he able to move the shifter rearward against the spring at all? Does it feel like it’s trying to but is just jammed?
If so, maybe jack up the rear wheels just to let any pressure off that is on the drivetrain.
See if that allows the shifter to move.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
By the same token, I suppose, instead of jacking up the rear wheels, you could simply rock it back-and-forth.
Maybe that would allow for some reduction in binding. If that’s what the actual problem is.
Otherwise follow the linkage down at the end of the column and see if something has become dislodged, or is in the way jamming it up.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
No. Not until later.