• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Crappy MPG - help?

M@2s

Hi guys,
I'm new to the forum and have searched it out a bit looking for some answers but I decided to post for suggestions anyway.

I bought my rig about a month ago and I'm figuring it out, making changes and tuning things. I'm new to 4x4 and broncos but not old cars.

After a 20 gallon tank refill, I got 100 miles. I'm thinking something is a bit off here.

4 barrel carbed 351W with small RV cam, 4.5" lift, 37" tires, 4.56 gears, NP435, running topless and cage doors.

I'm going to check for dragging brakes and other obvious issues, but shouldn't I be a bit closer to 9 MPG instead of 5?

Looking for real guidance suggestions and not comments of me being a nube.

Thanks for the help in advance.

LilMixedUp

Loc.
Bonaire
I would think 9-11 at least.... my last 351 with 4.11 and 33's got 14. If I babied it I could squeeze 15+. As you said, tune up to include timing and do a good check up of brakes, tire pressure, fluid levels; etc... and a lot depends on how you like to drive:) petal to the metal or "pappy" like.....

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Are you going by the gauge? Or are you saying that after a second refill you were able to put 20 gallons back in the tank?
Is your speedometer and odometer corrected for the tire size and gear change?

I would not be surprised if you were more in the 7-8 range, rather than the 9-10 range that many get. Your 37's are really holding things back. Even with 4.56 gears.
And a 351 with an "RV" cam is an unknown too. Hard to say how much effect that cam is having. But yeah, at 5 there is something else at work.
But it might be the filling method in the end.