• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

double triangulated 4 link for offroad / street rig

Kail

Loc.
Austin, TX
I wanted to discuss double triangulated 4link for front and rear on my bronco.

My background is hot rod fabrication. It is what I do for a living. I am fairly new to off road.

I was reading how a double triangulated 4 link allows more travel with less bind then a standard triangulated 4link. It would allow me to use a bushing on the frame side and heim joints or johnny joints on the axel side. To allow a slightly less harsh ride.
So how does this setup fair on the street / freeway? Is there a build on here that has used this?

I want to build a well rounded adapt to all truck. I don't want to spend to much on parts especially since I can make nearly everything my self. I have very good fab skills, cad capabilities and access to a cnc plasma cutter.
I have done several normal triangulated 4links on cars with great success. And I am looking forward to this new challenge.

Thanks, Kail

Quick & Dirty

Triangulating the lowers alters the roll axis geometry and amount of roll steer. The roll axis is from the intersection of the lowers to the intersection of the uppers. Triangulating the lowers brings the intersection closer and lower.

A proper four link shouldn't bind if the lowers are triangulated or not.

A triangulated 4 link on the front needs hydraulic steering. A regular drag link will move in a different arc causing bump steer. If you are keeping regular steering, then go with a 3 link and panhard bar.

Dude seriously

Loc.
Everett