• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Engine dies when not into the throttle

BigOrsnge

Contributor
73, 302, 2 bar carb
It fires up and runs good as long as I'm on the gas. If I hit a hill and coast it dies. Also, it sputters and dies if I floor it while idling.
Carb is two years old. Fuel filter is clean. Timing is ok.
Carb float issue maybe? I'm no carb expert at all, so asking.
Thanks!

jckkys

Bronco Guru
You're describing 2 unrelated issues. The inability to idle would be addressed by both the idle mixture and speed adjustments. An engine dying when hitting accelerator is an accelerator pump circuit issue.

No Hay

Bronco Guru
Hi, I would get a carb kit and rebuild it. They come with great instructions and diagrams. Good luck

Ditto. Mine was doing the same. Highly recommend.

After watching youtube vids, I was surprised how easy the rebuild process is, and shocked to see what was inside my carb. Runs like a champ now.

Attachments

• IMG_2772.jpg
    IMG_2772.jpg
    55.2 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_2773.jpg
    IMG_2773.jpg
    58 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_2778.jpg
    IMG_2778.jpg
    86.4 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_2783.jpg
    IMG_2783.jpg
    52.1 KB · Views: 33
OP
OP
BigOrsnge

BigOrsnge

Contributor
Carb is only a little over a year old. Shouldn't really need a rebuild I wouldn't think but again, I'm not a carb guy so I'll pull it and take a look. Thanks!

tatersalad

Bronco Guru