• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Explorer serpentine conversion

Contributor
I made a video explaining the explorer serpentine conversion with part numbers in the description as well. I’ve had a few people asking me about it since I did it. Sorry for any rambling or if I missed things! I’m not a pro YouTuber haha! Hopefully it will help some people out when they decide to go this route.

Part #’s I used to do the conversion

Timing cover: Dorman 635106
Timing cover gasket: FelPro TCS45449
Fan blade: Dorman 620152
Fan clutch: US Motor Works 22615
Thermostat housing: Gates CO34902
Water pump: Gates 43068
Thermostat: MotoRad 7244192
Timing pointer: Dorman 962422
Belt tensioner: Gates 38161
Tensioner pulley: Gates 38002
Idler pulley: Gates 38008
Harmonic Balancer: Damper Dudes FO3024EX28OZ (Check your specific engine to make sure you need either the 28oz or 50oz)
Saginaw Power steering bracket: Wild Horses 7129
Power steering pump: Saginaw Steering Pump w/Serpentine Pulley from Wild Horses
Serpentine Belt FOR THE SPECIFIC PUMP AND PULLEY IM USING! WILL NOT FIT WITH STOCK EXPLORER PUMP: Gates K060876
You will need the bolts from the explorer or get new ones at the store. I chose to get new bolts at the hardware store for the most part.
Factory Explorer Passenger side bracket
Alternator: 1996-2001 5.0 Explorer

If you can’t find the passenger side bracket you can use this one from BC:
https://bcbroncos.com/shop/engine/e.../15-00522-16-explorer-alternator-bracket-eab/

The Explorer Serpentine Saginaw conversion bracket I used:
https://www.wildhorses4x4.com/power-steering-pump-bracket-96-01-explorer-5-liter