• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Gauge Questions with New Centech Harness

csangster

I am installing a new Centech harness in my bronco and I have a few questions about the gauges.

Pardon me if they seem quite simple, as I am NOT an expert with this stuff...

1) How does a 1970 bronco measure engine temperature and oil pressure?

2) My bronco currently has an aftermarket oil pressure gauge that supplies a copper line to the gauge and reads pressure directly, is this how it was done originally?

3) The Centech harness looks like it will be quite effective, but is there anything that doesn't come with the kit that I should replace at the same time?

Thank you,
Chris

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Once you get the harness laid out, you should find a couple of wires with the appropriate markings under the hood. Sorry I forget what colors they are.
The stock water temp gauge reads from a sending unit screwed into the top front of the intake manifold.
The stock oil pressure is taken from a bulb-shaped sending unit screwed into a tube that is screwed into the side of the engine block just behind the fuel pump on the driver's side front of the engine. The copper line for the aftermarket gauge will most likely be plumbed in there as well.
All the appropriate connections at the other end are pre-attached in the gauge section of the dash harness.
They're all marked clearly so you shouldn't have any problems.