• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Heater Hose Question

Hjwallace67

tempImageoJrI4y.jpg tempImageNpkq2N.jpg tempImagenIIqA5.jpg

Guys, newbie here. I've owned several classic Mustangs over the years, but I just purchased my first, 1st Gen Bronco. This may be a dumb question, but I'm trying to figure out what this thing is that (I assume) the previous owner has plumbed into the heater hose lines. I've seen many Ford small blocks, but never anything like this. I tried to take a picture of where they put a Y in as well. Not sure if you can see it or not. Any help would be appreciated!

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Interesting. My first thought was a homemade hot water heater for showers. Used to be fairly common in off-road circles.
But those would have two inlets and two outlets and yours just looks like a reservoir with one tube in and one out.

Are there any other connections? Electrical or otherwise?

brbuilder

Interesting. My first thought was a homemade hot water heater for showers. Used to be fairly common in off-road circles.
But those would have two inlets and two outlets and yours just looks like a reservoir with one tube in and one out.

Are there any other connections? Electrical or otherwise?
I believe that is an engine block heater for cold climates.

OP
OP
Hjwallace67

Hjwallace67

I don't see any electrical connections, but the engine block heater makes sense. This car is from Utah. Being in Alabama, I've never seen one. I'll do a little more digging on it and report back. Thanks for the help!

geofocusinc

That looks like a block heater from a diesel tractor. Common up north here, and it sure looks like an electrical cord coming off the bottom of your picture.