• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Help please - how to adjust shift rods!

Fireball05

Bronco Guru
I was crawling under the truck today doing things I probably shouldn't be, given my lack of mechanical knowledge. I've got a '76 with the original 3 speed on the column. The shifting is really sloppy. Sometimes neutral is hard to find, and can be very difficult to get down into 1st. So I started playing around with the shift rods. It looks like the bushings might be worn out.

Can someone help me with the proper procedure to adjust these?

There is a bushing at the end of the link arm right where it goes into the tranny. Those bushings seem worn, but not terrible.

Also, the bolt where that linkage attaches to the tranny were very loose. When I tightened them a bit, I couldn't shift at all. Backed them off a bit, and I seemed good to go.

I'm going to head out now and take some photos or videos, but any help greatly appreciated!

Ripper set of videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OcvDpemU32g&feature=youtu.be

And one from under the car:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkrIfsZyfvY&feature=youtu.be

Last edited:

needabronco

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Prescott/Farmington
disconnect the shift rods at the transmission first. Up on the steering column side there's a slot where you can insert a rod or a drill bit to locate the linkage on that end, then adjust the linkage at the transmission side.

I don't however remember what position the linkage on the trans side needs to be in. But I believe they should both be in neutral?

OP
OP
Fireball05

Fireball05

Bronco Guru
Are you talking about first undoing the two connections that are shown at the very start of my 2nd video?