• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Is something like this needed for painting underside of bronco

widowmaker77

Contributor
Hey guys, I’m new to paint and body stuff so I’m not sure what I really need. I’m blasting the underside of my 66 and I have the upol anti corrosive epoxy primer. To spray on afterwards. I’ve been doing some reading and I’m wondering if I will need something like this to be able to spray the underside with since my body is still on the frame? I’m concerned that conventional spray guns won’t let me shoot properly while holding it upside down. Any advice is appreciated! https://www.harborfreight.com/64-oz-Professional-HVLP-Air-Spray-Gun-Kit-62895.html

AZ73

Contributor
Bronco Guru
That will work fine but you'll need a 60+gal compressor as it's an HVLP gun.

OP
OP
widowmaker77

widowmaker77

Contributor
That will work fine but you'll need a 60+gal compressor as it's an HVLP gun.

Thanks man! I’ve got the compressor part covered. Just not sure about paint guns but trying to learn

AZ73

Contributor
Bronco Guru
That's not an HVLP (High Volume Low Pressure) gun. It's a standard gun. It would be fine also for doing the underside. To get a nice paint job on the top side you should stick with an HVLP gun. Here's a quick description of the difference: