• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Need help drilling hole in Truetrac carrier.

hammer189

Loc.
South Atlanta
I bought the Jantz kit to put the stronger JK 44 gears in my Dana 44.
http://classicbroncos.com/forums/showthread.php?t=281832&highlight=Jantz
This requires me to drill out the flange in the Eaton Truetrac to fit the 1/2" ring gear bolts. The flange is hardened steel. I tried a Milwaukee cobalt 1/2" bit and it did nothing.
Any ideas on how to do this in my garage or do I need to find a machine shop?

Thanks, David

Hinmaton

I would speak with Carl and see if he has any suggestions as step one.
I am a machinist by trade, and drilling out holes to increase their size by just a little bit is tough even when the material isn’t hardened. There is not enough material available to stabilize the cutting edges of the drill, so it is hard to get a good bite in the material leading to to chatter, cutting edge break down, heat and excessive wear. Add hardened materials and there is little chance of success.
The material is most likely case hardened and not thru hardened, so if you can get through the outer layer the rest will cut better. If it is thru hardened...
The Tool has to be harder than the material you’re cutting, which means using carbide, which are expensive. Grinding and sanding tend to work best on hard materials. If I remember correctly the D44 ring gear bolts are 3/8”-24, which would be a tough amount to try and grind out.

Again- call Carl. He’s a super smart guy, if anyone knows how to do it, it’s him.

Hinmaton

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rustytruck

Bronco Guru