• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

re-installing an Aux Fuel tank after EFI install

thomaspadden

Im a novice and have some mechanical ability btw.

So i have a 1972, 302, 4 speed manual trans beauty! Love her to death. I had a mechanic install a Holley Sniper EFI. I removed both the old fuel tanks, main and auxiliary. I had them install a 23 gallon from Toms bronco parts with the in-tank high pressure fuel pump for the Sniper. It has a return line to main tank.

I want to reinstall my 9 gallon Auxiliary Tank and have it dump into the main tank. This is what i was thinking on how to do it.

Run the 3/8 fuel line from the Aux tank and "T" into the return line from the Sniper EFI. I called Holley and they said that the return pressure is approx 4 psi to the main tank. I was going to use a "dash switch" activated low psi inline carb pump (mounted to frame) to pump from the aux tank to Main tank when the main tank got to 1/4 full. I still have the fuel gauge switch on the dash to be able to switch from one fuel gauge to another so i know how much each tank will have.

Ideas? Will this work? anything im not thinking of?
Plain Talk for me please im not very techy.

Broncobowsher

Total hack
I would start with just driving it with the 23 gallon tank. Most people find that sufficient enough that it isn't worth putting the aux tank back in.