• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Still not running right

recoiljunky

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Dothan, AL. USA
I've been tring for a couple of months now to get this thing right but still no luck:

Stock 302, new Edelbrock intake, new Holley 470 TA carb, new Duraspark dizzy and control module, new plugs and new wires. NP435 transmission, 3.50 gears, 35" tires.

When you really get on it it breaks apart in it's mid-power range. If you let off the accelerator slightly it will recouperate. Initially I thought it was a bog (as in too much fuel) but now I'm not sure. It does this weather the motor is warm or cold.

I have adjusted the timing using a vaccum guage. It pulls a steady 20 psi of vaccum. The spark advanced is hooked to the correct, metered vaccum port on the carb. I have swapped in every vaccum secondary spring into the carb but they all allow the motor to break up.

I have suspected that it may be a fuel starvation issue. Maybe the bowls are getting sucked dry, then filling back up when I let off. The floats are set to the proper level, just at the bottom edge of the sight window. The fuel filter is clean and the line and tank are clean as well. I'm still running a mechanical fuel pump.

The motor idles fine and runs pretty good as long as you don't keep it floored for over 5 or 6 seconds.

Any ideas?

Pa PITT

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Stephenville TEXAS
Do you not have another carb or another bronco buddy to swap one off of to see if it'll run with another carb....I guess there is a million of those carb out there running good ..But I've read of a lot of them causing trouble ....But I fugure we're only hearing of the bad ones...