• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Yet another electrical/wiring question

DJPoop

I've been through every past thread I could find to try and figure this out, but I'm stumped. Plus I'm a noob to Broncos and auto mechanics in general, but have been enjoying tinkering around after spending hours on this forum and watching youtube videos.

My latest project was the voltmeter mod to replace the alt gauge, since I upgraded to a 3g alternator. I followed Steve83's awesome guide and after a few hours, voila, I had it installed in the cluster.

While I was at it and had the cluster out, I also swapped in a new IVR, since my gauges have never worked. I used one of the Scott Drake constant solid state IVRs. I hooked everything up and all of the gauges finally worked (awesome!), plus well as the voltmeter was working (I just soldered a wire from the positive post of the gauge to the 12v input of the IVR). The only problem was that while the gauges were working, all of the cluster lights were on: both turn signal lights, as if the headlights were switched on, plus the red light at the top (high beam light?).

I have an American Autowire harness that was installed professionally when I bought the truck, so I checked the manual and saw that the ground wire on the diagram below was not connected to anything and the terminal end of the wire was taped off (click the thumbnail for full size).