• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Throttle Sticking weird linkage

Slewis25

I am new to the Bronco world, I bought a 69 with a 302 and yesterday I noticed the throttle sticking when I got on it a little. There is a funky linkage that mounts to the manifold, it is in between the linkage that mounts to the firewall and the carb. I would post a pic but I am having trouble adding it to this thread. I have not seen this on other broncos and was curious if anyone is familiar with it. I also noticed that with the pedal on the floor I am only getting a little over half throttle (no good.) I was also looking for any advice on which carb to run, I have heard mixed revies on Holley's Truck Avenger. The Edlebrock on it know is new but very ineffective off road.

Thanks,

Scott

70_Steve

Old Guy
First, welcome to the site, and to the Bronco community!!

To upload pictures into the thread, pay $12 a year and become a contributor. See this thread (sticky in the Bronco Chat section) for details. http://classicbroncos.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34373 . Or you can have the pics hosted on another server and add a link to the pic.

I haven't seen any other bracket mounted on the manifold. My 70 had a solid link between the linkage on the firewall and the carb. I run a Carter AFB, which is the same as the Edelbrock. I fabricated a small adapter to be able to use the stock throttle link with the Carter. It worked fine for several years until I got tired of the surging I got with the mechanical linkage. I just replaced the mechanical linkage with a Lokar throttle cable. Went out Sunday with it and it works great. I have the old throttle linkage. If you're interested, send me a PM.