• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

ATK engines

Jordanr5904

Loc.
Pensacola
Im just looking for now but i was wondering if anyone had and information or experience with the 302 crate from ATK? Looking for something that i can drop in and go.

bronconut73

Bronco Guru
I have been running an ATK 351 Windsor short block for 25 years.
Had to tear it down one day and found Clevite and TRW bearings and other quality parts.
It has served me well through all my iterations of this overall power plant.

Lmfp

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Lake Charles, LA
I have a longblock 351w from them. Its a roller motor with aluminum heads (estreets) aside from not liking the heads the motor is strong as heck.

BALCH-Autoworx

I've been looking at them too.

Lmfp, what's wrong with the heads? Not your head of choice, mismatched to the engine, or what?

Lmfp

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Lake Charles, LA
I've been looking at them too.

Lmfp, what's wrong with the heads? Not your head of choice, mismatched to the engine, or what?

They're known for having weak valve springs (like to break and drop valves). Thats not a big deal, the problem is the heads have to be machined for upgraded springs (atleast from what I've gathered) which is a big deal to me. Aside from that it puts power down. Ive manage a 2nd gear burnout with 33" tires and 3.50 gears, so some things right lol. Oh and I have 2.02" intake and 1.9" exhaust valves so thats a plus.

OP
OP
J

Jordanr5904

Loc.
Pensacola