• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

DIY transmission rebuild times?

gclauson

Contributor
I have been running an NV4500 in my Bronco for over ten years. It now needs some love- new seals and gaskets plus the synchros are getting soft.

I also have a 4R70W that I am considering swapping into the truck.

I need to decide which way to go and the rebuilding time is a key input to my decision. I have good mechanical knowledge and tools and have rebuilt manual transmissions before, but not an automatic, but seems like the 4R70W is quite user-friendly, so that does not concern me. But I don't have a zillion free hours to spend, so if one is much faster than the other, that is good for me to know.

Questions for people that have undertaken rebuilding either transmission:
1. How many hours did it take you to do the full rebuild from tearing it apart to completely reassembled? E.g. 8 hours, 20 hours, 40 hours?
2. Can the NV4500 to be rebuilt w/o purchasing expensive, specialized tools?

Gary

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Not that this would help with the leaks, but have you tried changing the lubricant lately? How many miles on the current lube? How many on the transmission overall, if known?
While this is not scientific by any means, in older, simpler manual transmissions an oil change sometimes breathes new life into it.

Members jamesroney and Lars have been using 4500's for years as well, but I think only James has rebuilt a 4500. Or gone through them at least. Can't say what was done during the R&R.
But anyone that's done it with all the right tools is not going to be the same as a first-timer I would not think.