• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Easy Drum to Disc Conversion Question

vanolefan

Loc.
Tallahassee, FL
Yes, I have searched the threads, but I am still unclear. I am somewhat new to this level of wrenching, so I want to make sure I am doing this right.

I have a stock 74 with drum brakes. I recently bought a 77 Dana 44 with disc brakes from a bronco and I am attempting to convert from drum to discs. I have removed everything from the knuckles out on the 77 and I am getting ready to reinstall these parts onto my truck. Are there any issues with the tie rod length? If so what should I buy? If I wanted to use this as an opportunity to get new tie rods, any recommendations? I was also planning to buy new brake lines for a 77. Will these work? The dust/brake baking shields are toast. Can I run without them or should I buy new ones?

Any other tips or advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. This Bronco community is great.

RPM289

I'm Interested in this also as I want to upgrade one day. Will be following this thread! :)

jmangi62

Bronco Guru
The first thing is throw away the dust shields,not needed,all they do is clog up with mud and debris if you're building a trail rig,second is buy a better steering setup,most go with the chevy 1ton system,I went with the heavy duty system from Ruffstuff,they have both,check them out.I would also just swap in that 77 D44 and sell you're 74 drum brake setup.You also should go with new brake lines also while you're in there,just a few tips as I just did this swap,more comments will come in,these guys are experts in this field,good luck. Jim :cool:

duffymahoney

Contributor
Bronco Guru