• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Electric cooling fan question

Prime Time

Hi All so glad to join this site , Im trying to install an electric fan and ditch the mechanical fan , I only have about 2" between the radiator and the water pump , I could gain about an inch if cut off the rad mount up against the front clip , wondering if anyone has ideas where to gain more room , I have a 2" radiator and 351 sb since im a newbie I cant figure out how to attach pic yet

sykanr0ng

Bronco Guru
How to upload photos - Become a Contributor

There are other accessory drive setups that you can use which will give more space between them and the radiator, so an electric fan is not your only option.
It seems that you would need a pusher fan if you go electric and those are usually less efficient at cooling than a puller fan.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Yeah, this is the age-old issue with Early Broncos. Just not enough room between the radiator and water pump snout for a decently powerful fan. And without power, you don't get good cooling in the poor aerodynamic environment under a Bronco hood either.
Result is overheating in many cases.

A pusher fan is not as efficient as a puller, but even to use a pusher you would need more room than a Bronco has between the grille and the core support.
All in all its just not a good place for an electric fan until you make more changes.

Some have gone to the point of cutting the core support and moving the radiator forward enough to fit the fan. But either moving the radiator forward or using a pusher fan means you lose your hood latch and have to go to hood pins instead. Which some, including me, would rather not do.