• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

engine advice

msmith

First off let me make the disclaimer that I am NOT a mechanic or motor head. I rely heavily on people and the internet. I don't have a problem, and prefer to wrench on my own stuff.

So I have the engine out of my 77 build and was contemplating what to do with it. It ran pretty good in spite of having 3 different kinds of plugs in it and it has good compression (150 on the back 6 and 135 & 140 on the front 2 checked cold). With this in mind, I'm thinking clean, paint, dress it up and go with it but it would be nice to have a smidgen more umph. With it being a 77 smog motor and the fact I don't have much of a clue, I decided to make sure of what I actually got.

It appears to be a 74 out of a Maverick, but it has the egr. No other smog equipment.

I'm also considering the fact that it looks like it was pulled out of the weeds from behind the barn.

Here are the routes I am considering but what would you recommend?
1) Leave it alone except for clean, paint, & dress it up. Maybe a mild cam. How do I get rid of the egr?

2) Do a refresh, clean, paint, & maybe cam

3) Crate motor and be done

Best I can tell the code is D4DE. It's easier to see in person
nzk3GAe.jpg

B5pCZSM.jpg

pEM5PcJ.jpg

XCWg2Ao.jpg

m_m70

Contributor
Loc.
Pacifica, CA
Where you at?? just asking cause n some states like CA you'll need to smog that rig to get it registered so I save the smog stuff. Even if not for yourself, it may be worth something to someone else.

OP
OP
msmith

msmith