• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Has Anyone Seen This Spare Tire Location? 66' Wagon.

HuffDaddy

Hello. Has anyone seen the spare tire location right above the passenger rear wheel well? This sure appears to be stock but requires a bit of a skinny tire. I have searched and searched and I have never seen this location before. I will attempt to post my first pictures and let me know if anyone has seen this. I am brand new with Broncos and classic cars in general. I am finding out the 66 Bronco was kind of a guinea pig so to speak. Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_1376.jpg
    IMG_1376.jpg
    71.6 KB · Views: 419
  • IMG_1377.jpg
    IMG_1377.jpg
    94.3 KB · Views: 393

JGbronc

Bronco Maniac
That's the bracket from the tailgate mount. It was just relocated in a neat spot.

thegreatjustino

Contributor
Red Head Grease Monkey
Loc.
Stockton, CA
I have a '68 with a home made spare tire rack in that location. While it does create more room behind the rear seat, it blocks the blind spot for changing lanes pretty badly.

toddz69

Sponsor/Vendor
Bronco Guru
Seems to me that would severely limit your tire's uptravel?

Todd Z.

spap

Contributor
Bronco Guru
I agree would really block the wheel well do you have pictures of that
Inside the wheel well

OP
OP
HuffDaddy

HuffDaddy

Wow that was fast! Thanks for all the responses. I feel a little stupid thinking it might be stock now. Seems like a good 8" of clearance and no evidence of a tire ever rubbing it. And no, I did not paint the inside red and white. The guy I bought it from did that. Thanks for the tip about the arm rests. I will post a pic tomorrow with the wheel removed. Thanks everyone.

OP
OP
HuffDaddy

HuffDaddy