• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Help starting!

bwjohn

Hello Guys,
I will do my best on this but, I am quite new to working on vehicles of this age. So, some of your questions I may not be able to answer, or will probably give you incomplete information to help answer my question.

Onto the problem:

My 73 will not start!! Original engine, aftermarket holley carb, new plugs, plug wires, distributor, carb has been rebuilt recently.

We checked spark from the plugs, have that.
Checked timing quite extensively yesterday and we feel that we are correct.
We are pouring gas straight down the carb and using starter fluid.
Had compression on cylinder 1 when turning the engine over.
Was trying to look at the electrical when we gave up last night. Was getting 4 volts to the coil, 10 at the solenoid, 12 where it came out of the fire wall. I think those are suppose to be at 6, 12 and 12.

I bought my Bronco about 6/7 years ago now. It ran, and i drove it quite a bit. There was one winter were I was quite busy and didn't get to drive it. Came around to the spring and tried to run it and it would start run and idle, but when getting over 40/45 mph it would stall out. The problem got worse until it would stall out around 25/30 then would only idle and then it would only start and idle for about 5 minutes then die. Now it will not start at all.

Thoughts on things to try?

thank you Brandon

gr8scott

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Find TDC on piston 1 on the compression stroke. Remove the cap and verify the rotor is pointed to the #1 spark plug wire.

So you bought a new distributor? Which one?

OP
OP
B

bwjohn