• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Installing new 302 Roller into original 3 speed transmission.

doubletrouble

Guys, this is my first time posting, and I am thankful to those that can help. So, to give you all an idea, I have a 70 Bronco Sport. I am doing a frame off restoration, and planning on installing a newer 302 Roller cam motor. Potentially from a 1995 F-150. I am choosing this off of budget alone. I am a freshly out college student that isn’t making enough to go ham on a build. Regardless, this newer long block configuration engine will be going into my original 3 speed engine with the Dana 20 transfer case. My questions are. What am I to expect to replace, or add on to make this work. I’m talking everything I need to change/buy for it to fit. I am being told my balancer and fly wheel would have to go to a 50oz one. I’m also being told I can put in a 1970 timing cover to add the mechanical fuel pump. I would have to install the cam pump drive to make the fuel pump work. Other than that, would all of my original parts work? Things as in my current alternator bracket, my power steering pump bracket, my bell housing. Would I have any issues mounting my 3 speed manual transmission to this? Also, would I need a 95 clutch, or a 70 clutch to make it work? I know enough about cars to make it work, I just need details as to what I need before hand, so I can order the specifics and not have any hiccups when installing it all back together. I’m planning on adding a/c later on, and efi later on. For budget sake it’s going on right now with just power steering and carb.

thegreatjustino

Contributor
Red Head Grease Monkey
Loc.
Stockton, CA