• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Power Steering Rebuild Experience

bgott

Trying to get some idea of the experience others have had with rebuilding their own PS gear. I've got the factory box in a 77 Bronco that I just finally got road worthy (more to come on that in the build thread) and I knew it was leaking beforehand, but after the first drive it's evident it's going to have to be completely gone through. Its not as firm as I want it to be, it leaks, etc.

Before I jump into it I want to see what others have been through as I feel I'm a competent mechanic, but never worked on one of these and if its some extremely painful process I just assume send it out. If you have done this before, let me know your experience and if there are any potential unforeseen issues I can expect to face. Thanks.

tirewater

Loc.
San Francisco Bay Area
It's not too bad, and plenty of how to documents and videos. Physically, the hardest part for me was getting the rack piston & power valve back into the case without wreaking the teflon seals. I had to order a new seal after accidentally shaving some of the seal off trying to get the pistons back into place.

I ended up measuring the rack piston ball diameters as the colors weren't very distinct from one another. I didn't want to have issues because not alternating the balls properly.

If you get uncomfortable, you can always send the parts in for a professional rebuild.

Edit: Looks like I included some pages for the rebuild on my old build thread, the photos are gone though.
https://classicbroncos.com/forums/threads/rebuild-bronco-the-debilitated.262265/post-2894959

Last edited:

Madgyver

Bronco Madman