• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Repair or Rewire??

DowntheShore

I am only 10 miles into my first EB. There are numerous concerns with the wiring to tail-lights, gauges, flashers, radio, winch & off-road lights (which I plan to remove) that I have found already. PO warned me of some of the items and now I'm afraid of what else is hiding in all of that spaghetti.

Question is, do I start to repair these items as I find them or do I rewire? I have no experience with either. I am leaning towards re-wire to hopefully provide some peace of mind. But do I tackle that or find someone with some experience? Which harness is best suited for a novice?

Appreciate everyone's input.

904Bronco

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
San Martin, CA
It is always better to start fresh...
Especially on an original harness that is 40 + years old and that has be PO'd.
Centech is relatively easy, better than original, but does not have a lot of flexibility that the other more expensive kits offer.

My .02

D.R.Y.

Loc.
The Netherlands
I would definitely start fresh. ˇhen you know what & how things were done and set up.
I am personally doing the same and have bought the Painless Wiring kit for the Bronco

Timmy390

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Conway, AR
Especially on an original harness that is 40 + years old and that has be PO'd.

and has been PO'd......that's funny. Mine sure had been,

I say start over. I didn't and I'm fighting issues all the time. Bad grounds mainly.

Tim

kburandt

Loc.
Cypress, TX