• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

C4 leak -Servo cover?

Austringer1

1st post, thanks in advance for any help. I'm just getting my 77 going. On my way back from a test drive, I noticed it was leaking transmission fluid. I tightened up a couple of bolts, but it still leaks. Can you tell me if this is the reverse servo? If it is, do you think the servo cover loosened and maybe the o ring got pushed out and pinched? In the photo it looks like some rubber or sealant oozing out.
Since I am not a mechanic, maybe I'm completely wrong. can you give me some ideas?

Attachments

• leak pic.jpg
    leak pic.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 96

DJs74

Bronco Guru
Welcome to CB.com!

This site has some real geniuses on C4s and will tell you better but in the meantime, here are a few things to think about.

First, you might check to see if there is any fluid above the servo cover just to make sure it is actually the cover leaking - the fluid might be coming from somewhere else and running down to the cover making it look like its the cover. There is a vent on top of the transmission so maybe a little fluid came out of it and ran down?