• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Ron Francis/RJM harness and VA

stretch

Loc.
Montgomery, TX
RJM /RF FI harness has #25 blue wire in the driver side loom next to the oil pressure wiring. My understanding is this is power for the air compressor.

The new VA wiring has a blue wire that is connected to the binary safety switch then to the compressor. once again, this is power for the compressor.

I may be mistaken, but doesn’t the computer increase the rpm once the compressor kicks on? if so, I can’t see how this happens without power coming from the FI harness. Should both of these power wires be splice together?

Obviously I’m not an electrician, so any help here would appreciated.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
This is a great question. I've been using the RJM harnesses since the very first few batches came from Ryan and the A/C circuit was an option. Meant primarily for those wanting to use an A/C compressor as an air power source for inflating tires and such. Not many expected to run A/C at the time and an air compressor would have been on it's own switch.
I had forgotten where the hookup was at the other end of the Blue wire so had to go back and consult the instructions on our site.
It's over by the relay group.

It is a separate and independent wire that is simply included under the harness wrapping but meant for the end-user to integrate into the A/C system. I don't think any part of the function is controlled through the computer in this case. Yes in it's original form the computer kicks up the idle when the A/C is turned on, but I don't see how it could in this case.