• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

'70 LUBR Build

5_oh_bronco

Loc.
Grand Junction
So I've been working on building a 1970 uncut Bronco.

This is my first build, so it is moving along slowly, but moving. I started with a pretty clean, mostly complete, running bronco last July. While most of it was there, the interior was in pretty rough shape. It appeared to have been rolled, and repaired. Repairs included fixing dents along both upper outside corners of the hard top, straightening (sort of) the core support, replacing both fenders, and brazing a few broken spot welds along the inner fenders. Rear quarters are in great shape, as is the bed, firewall, transmission tunnel, and dash. Rust was found in the usual areas: bottom of the a-pillars, one rocker, bottom of the tailgate, the double layered portion of the inner fender immediately ahead of the firewall, and of course, the floor pans.

The plan: the original 302 is being replaced with a fuel injected, computer controlled 5.0 out of a '95 mustang. The original 3-on-the-tree tranny is being swapped for the WCT5 5-speed, also from the mustang. This is being mated to the original dana 20 with an adapter of my own design and fabrication. Maximum lift will be about 1-1/2 to 2 inches, depending on how much the extra weight of the 5.0 causes 2 inch lift springs to sag. Tires will be a 30 x 9.5 riding on the original rims with original hub caps. Drum brakes will be swapped for discs at all four corners, powered by an astro-hydraboost conversion. Power steering will replace the original unassisted unit. Ideally, this thing will look basically original until you pop the hood. Under the hood it should look like a stock '95 mustang.