• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Dumb Newb questions: want early Bronco.

Greg Bell

Hey guys,

I want a early Bronco. I would prefer a 73 because that is the year I was born and I am a romantic. I am new to the Bronco world and want to know what I am in for. I have tinkered with older vehicles before. I had a 73' Porsche 914 (notice a pattern?) and it got out of hand (crappy rusted Unibody!).

Anyway. How big a hassle are these trucks? They are obviously on the bad side of 30 something, so I recognize parts will be failing. What I am wondering is, compared to say, a Porsche 914, how reliable would you say these vehicles are?

How hard are parts to come by? Are these vehicles servicable in normal Ford dealerships?

What kind of money am I going to spend to get a driver? I want a good driver. I don't care about paint and I don't care about superficial rust issues. What I don't want is a rust-bucket and wiring nightmare.

So, how much are good drivers going for in the Southeast?

Thanks guys!;D

dnewman9

Bronco Guru
Its a slow night, I will play....

Compared to a 914? I think much easier, the parts are all over the place from a myriad of years in the Ford vehicle family.

They are old vehicles, you simply are going to have to maintain them, if you want little hassle buy a new Jeep. Otherwise if you enjoy tinkering, figuring things out, jump in. Its a pretty fun hobby.