• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

General Restoration Questions

crcala

Loc.
San Diego
I am new to the realm of First Generation Bronco restoration and hoping those that have been around the block a bit can provide some guidance. I came across a 68 Bronco in the Central Valley for the right price and right condition and couldn't resist. It was originally Lunar Green and had been sitting in a sea container reportedly for 20 plus years. It was running (with a good deal of smoke) and had surface rust only in all the places that commonly are rusted through (driver/passenger floors where body attaches, wheel wells, rocker panels upper portion of rear quarter panels, top, etc..). Plenty of work to be done, but relatively minimal body/structural work.

Engine: As I understand engines are not matching numbers to chassis. Rather there are date stamps and some subtle differences that peg a particular engine to a model year. Vin decoding and inspection on my engine reveal a 289 engine with a casting stamp of C8AE indicating possibly a 302 block cast and assembled with a 289 bore. My question is whether or not it is worth the extra cost in terms of originality to rebuild this engine vs putting a C8 stamped 302 in. Essentially, what is the impact of original engine claim on value/perceived quality of restoration- especially since is doesn't seem that any 289/302 can really be guaranteed original.

Body: Reproduction rear quarter panels vs. patch panel to take back to original body appearance. I have seen complaint of poor fit with reproduction panels and not sure which way to go.