• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Mustang EFI / 347" - tuning options

jbickhart

Loc.
Montrose CO
I put all stock '93 Mustang EFI parts on my motor before I knew it was a 347" engine. I haven't touched the computer. I added an A/F meter in the dash and I've been driving it for several months. Is this close enough?

Cruise: 14.2-14.7
Idle: 15.5-16.5
WOT: 12.9-13.6
16mpg avg.
Excellent throttle response from 400rpm to 5k. I haven't rev'd beyond 3000 in months. I don't need max HP..... can't keep it between the lines above 70mph anyway.

Flat top pistons
Dart 190cc intake aluminum heads
mid-length headers
208 / 212 @ .050 H Roller cam

I don't want the 'project' of custom tuning. If I need to adjust.... what should I try?

73azbronco

Contributor
Bronco Guru
It looks like you need to be schooling us. Those numbers look fine. Curious how you didn't know before but now know its a 347?

xcntrk

Bronco Guru
Loc.
NOVA
Do you get any knock at WOT? 12.9-13.6 seems a little lean to me... Slightest bit of knock at WOT could result in damage and with a 347 stroker there's no fixing scored cylinder walls....

Just one persons opinion - I'm no expert but have done a lot of EFI tuning...

OP
OP
J

jbickhart

Loc.
Montrose CO
I just want to keep the motor healthy and wasn't sure what A/F ratios to look for. Im "far" from what most recommend for a 347" motor. Part of what makes it ok is my altitude.... I live at 6000 and haven't driven below 5000. The other part is a self imposed limiter around 5k.

I think ill leave it as-is. But, I don't imagine it will handle WOT at sea level. No knock at 5000- 12000 feet.