• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Questions on a carb

BigOrsnge

Contributor
I keep having what appears to be float/needle issues (I'm no carb expert). I'm getting fuel pressure to the carb, but the carb isn't filling with fuel. My set up has the usual tank filter and a filter between the tank and electric fuel pump. I shouldn't be getting trash in the lines. I've already made sure the tank was clean. I run nothing but regular gas (no corn squeezings). My question is how hard is to clean up the float/bowl. It's a Holley 2BRL and the needle just slides out, so that's easy. Just not sure about the other as I've never taken one apart.

Speedrdr

Contributor
Not so wise OLD owl
Loc.
Paris, MS
Pretty easy to rebuild a 2bbl carb. YouTube is a big help. If the carb still has the model number tag on it, that will make it easier to get the correct rebuild kit. Also there’s a lot of members here who are experts on all things carb related.

Randy

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
You could try tapping the carburetor at, or near the valve to see if it releases.
This tool could take the form of the end of a wrench handle, or less likely to mar the finish would be the plastic handle of a screwdriver.
These are the old time, old school methods of opening it up. Or closing it when it sticks open!

You could also spray carburetor cleaner into the bowl vent until it fills up. Let it wash through, evaporate a little, then either blow a little out with compressed air or simply crank the engine to pump it through.
These aren’t a cure-all, but they often work to make things function properly at least for a while.

OP
OP
BigOrsnge

BigOrsnge

Contributor